Edward Winter: Hermit of Geneva

One of the most interesting sites dedicated to chess history is Edward Winter‘s CHESS HISTORY. Below is a short video dedicated to Winter, apparently by his fans.  I recommend readers to visit his site from time to time if you are interested in the historical veracity of much of the myth of the Golden Age of chess…I visit it regularly.

My only complaint about Winter’s site is the constant abuse and misuse of copyright. Is it normal for historians to copyright everything that they uncover in old magazines and newspapers?  I hope not.  It seems very much to me that historians should not copyright history, if for no other reason than just as a question of principle. The past is a part of our shared heritage and does not belong to anyone in particular.  But that is only my opinion….

 

