The London Classic finished yesterday with a three-way tie for first place after Carlsen caught up to the two tournament leaders with a fine victory over Grischuk. Congrats to all three gentlemen!
This tournament concluded after some tie-break blitz games and Carlsen emerged on top.
According to the rules, Carlsen will be recognized as the GrandChessTour circuit winner, followed by Giri.
Apparently the Frenchman does not even qualify for next year’s circuit…even though–in my opinion–he is clearly one of the five best players in the world at present!
This is not the first time in these Elite tournaments that the players seem surprised by the tie-break rules AFTER the tournament is over. What is the problem with these players? Can’t they read? OR do they only look at the prize fund…and never the fine print?
THIS LOOKS LIKE FUN…
JAN TIMMAN: BIRTHDAY BOY!
Title : [鶴田謙二] ひたひた 画集
[鶴田謙二]ひたひた 画集 [Hita-Hita Gashu]
The young of today rarely listen to the old…even when we are right!
CAFE DE LA RÉGENCE
Le café de la Régence en 1874 M.Horsin-Déon d’après photographies / Graveur L.Chapon Le Monde Illustré du 7 mars 1874 LINK
Georges Bertola has written two very excellent articles (part I and part II) on the webpage of Europe Echecs on the subject of the legendary chess club CAFE de la REGENCE. Check them out!
BEING A WIFE IN THE ‘FIFTIES…